Login  |  Register

About textED.ca

Who operates textED.ca?

textED.ca is an initiative of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection Inc., a national charitable organization dedicated to the personal safety of all children. Our goal is to reduce child victimization by providing programs and services to the Canadian public. The Canadian Centre for Child Protection operates three national programs: Cybertip.ca, Canada’s national tipline for reporting the online sexual exploitation of children; Kids in the Know, a safety education program designed to empower children and reduce their risk of victimization; and Commit to Kids, a program to help child-serving organizations create safe environments for children.

What is the objective of the website and how does textEd.ca meet those objectives?

textED.ca is an innovative and interactive website designed to teach Canadian teens how to be safe, responsible and respectful users of texting technologies. The goal of textEd.ca is to build teens’ skills to be able to handle difficult situations they encounter using cell phones and make responsible decisions. Topics include friendship, relationships, dealing with stress and break-ups. The textED.ca website incorporates games, quizzes, discussion pages, downloadables and other fun tools to help them navigate through the issues in an age appropriate and engaging way.

Who is the target audience for the website?

textED.ca is geared towards Grade 7 and 8 students in Canada. The site provides teachers with a series of safety lessons and the website content to help guide students through respectful conduct when texting, and teaching them life skills that will allow them to fully benefit from what is now a very public, technological world. The lesson plans are matched to curricula outcomes for each province.

en français

Connexion  |  S'inscrire

À propos d’EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca

Qui est le promoteur d’EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca?

EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca est une initiative du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance inc., un organisme caritatif national voué à la sécurité personnelle des enfants. Notre but est de réduire la violence faite aux enfants par l’entremise de programmes et de services destinés à la population canadienne. Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance met en œuvre trois programmes nationaux : Cyberaide.ca, la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet; Enfants avertis, un programme d’éducation à la sécurité qui vise à outiller les enfants contre la maltraitance; et Priorité Jeunesse, qui aide les organismes de services à l’enfance à créer des milieux sûrs pour les enfants.

Quel est l’objectif du site et comment EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca répond-il à cet objectif?

EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca est un site internet original et interactif qui éduque les ados canadiens à l’usage prudent, responsable et respectueux de la messagerie texte. L’objectif d’EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca est d’outiller les ados pour faire face aux situations difficiles qui se présentent à eux lorsqu’ils utilisent un téléphone cellulaire et prendre des décisions responsables. L’amitié, les relations, le stress et les ruptures sont au nombre des sujets traités. Le site EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca propose des jeux, des quiz, des pages de discussion, des téléchargeables et d’autres outils attrayants pour sensibiliser les jeunes d’une manière attrayante et adaptée à leur âge.

Quel est le public cible du site?

EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca s’adresse à des élèves de 7e-8e année (1re-2e secondaire) au Canada. Le site offre au enseignantes et enseignants des leçons sur la sécurité et du contenu en ligne qui les aideront à apprendre aux élèves à texter respectueusement et à leur enseigner des habiletés fondamentales qui leur permettront de s’épanouir pleinement dans un monde désormais très public et technologique. Les plans de leçon concordent avec les objectifs des programmes scolaires de chaque province.

english